Nextsense - By type

Types of SSL certificates

The level of security and identity authentication assured by a Certificate of Authority is the main differentiator of SSL certificates. There are three types of SSL certificates:

Domain Validation (DV)

Represents the simplest or “good” SSL certification. Domain Validation confirms that the domain is registered, and someone with administrative rights is aware of and approves the certificate request. This type of SSL can be issued in minutes.

Organizational Validation (OV)

More advanced and better SSL certificate because it has more validation requirements. Organizational Validation authenticates domain ownership plus the organization’s information included in the certificate (name, city, state, and country). 

Extended Validation (EV)

Represents the best SSL certificate and is the recommended SSL certificate type. As the highest level of authentication, Extended Validation enables Web browsers to display a green bar along with the organization name and Certificate Authority providing the highest level of consumer confidence. It also validates domain ownership and organizational information, along with the legal existence of the organization, and certifies its awareness and approval of the request.